Brenda and the Giant Box of Peaches

One minute, my kitchen was empty, and the next, it was filled with a bounty of peaches from Kapnick Orchards in Britton, Michigan. OK, more than a bounty; it was overwhelming! My husband said he got a great deal, which was true in more ways than one. The peaches were juicy, delicious, and all ripe, demanding to be eaten, preserved or utilized immediately.

We set to work peeling, slicing and freezing many of them. Others, I jarred with the help of my mother-in-law. Yet I still felt that I hadn’t really made a dent in the haul. So, I devised recipes for peach chutney and peach barbeque sauce, which I cooked and jarred. I also made some peach-blueberry tarts. We still have peaches in the fridge, but we’re now left with a manageable, eatable quantity!

Preparing for the peach chutney

Preparing for the peach chutney

Published in: on September 6, 2009 at 3:05 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://michiganmugsandmeals.wordpress.com/2009/09/06/brenda-and-the-giant-box-of-peaches/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Welcome to the world of Michigan food blogging, Brenda. Good to see you her. For those of you who are gluten free (and even those who aren’t), you might want to check out my recipe for Gluten Free Peach Brown Betty. It is an updated version of an old-fashioned treat (with honey instead of brown sugar) – http://www.foodsofmichigan.com/foodblog I will add you to my blogroll.

    • Thanks for the information! Your blog looks great and you’re now added to my own list.


Leave a Reply

