Vegetarianism too severe? Try vaguetarianism!

When I was about 14, I made the personal decision to become a vegetarian for environmental reasons. Sure, I utilized a few high school presentations and college speech classes to spread the word about how eating high on the food chain can be detrimental to the earth. But, I was never preachy. And it’s a good thing I wasn’t, because after a few years of being a strict vegetarian, I just found myself bored, and very, very sick of “soy dogs” (15 years ago, meat-substitute products in the supermarket were few and far between). After slowly adding seafood and fish back to my diet, I found myself much happier, and it was much easier to find things to eat when away from home.

A 1993 Calvin and Hobbes cartoon I had tacked to my bulletin board for years

I knew I could no longer make the claim of being a true vegetarian, but I honestly didn’t care. I was comfortable with my lifestyle decision, and felt that at very least I was choosing the lesser of many evils.

Over the years, I stuck to this diet, although I’m not a zealot. I don’t freak out if I discover that the stuffed mushrooms I just ate had some bacon in them. Oh well. I might indulge in some turkey on Thanksgiving or a few bites of ham on Easter. This mindset made it easier to make my latest transition, which occurred when I met my husband, an avid hunter and fisher. “What could be more sustainable than dining on the deer which overpopulate our state?” I wondered. And so, burgers, brats and spaghetti Bolognese (all of the venison variety) are once again a part of my life.

Although I’ve followed this “diet” for more than half my life, I never had a name for it … until now. I stumbled across a blog today that discusses the concept of vaguetarianism. Ah, I feel so vindicated! My lifestyle has a name. And it’s not only my lifestyle; since I do 99% of the cooking in our house, my husband is a vaguetarian, too.

Next time you crave a juicy burger or a basket of wings, if that’s what you love, go for it. But consider choosing to make a few meals each week, or even one meal a day, meat-free. Your health may benefit, and you’ll be treading just a little lighter on Mother Earth.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://michiganmugsandmeals.wordpress.com/2010/01/28/vegetarianism-too-severe-try-vaguetarianism/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Bravo!

  2. You could find a thousand such statements online, but here’s one I just happened to run across today:

    “If we each cut the equivalent of one hamburger from our daily diet, it would be like taking half million cars off the road. We might all live a little longer, too.”

    Read more: http://www.thedailygreen.com/environmental-news/latest/organic-food-tips-47-040801#ixzz0eKsuOxUW

  3. I found the comic online here:
    http://marcel-oehler.marcellosendos.ch/comics/ch/index.html
    Thanks, Marcello!


Leave a Reply

